About Us

Huntington Beach Field Trip

New Hope Audubon Society (NHAS) is the chapter of the National Audubon Society that serves Chatham, Durham, and Orange counties in central North Carolina–including Carrboro, Chapel Hill, Durham, Hillsborough, and Pittsboro.

Our Mission

The mission of the New Hope Audubon Society is to promote the conservation and enjoyment of birds, other wildlife, and ecosystems, focusing on Chatham, Durham, and Orange counties.

NHAS Membership Meetings

Our membership meetings are held in the Visitor Education Center at the North Carolina Botanical Garden, 100 Old Mason Farm Road, Chapel Hill, on the first Thursday of every month (except June, July, and August).  Everyone, including non-members, is welcome! See you at a meeting soon!

Time/Date Speaker Topic
7:30 pm
Sep 7, 2017
Members Pot luck dessert and 10-12 Best Photos/Slides
NOTE: later start time
7:00 pm
Oct 5, 2017
Katinka Domen
Manager and Tour Leader of Beaks and Peaks
Birds and Animals of Honduras
7:00 pm
Nov 2, 2017
David Gammons
Elon University
Mockingbirds Mocking Birds
7:00 pm
Dec 7, 2017
Norm Budnitz Forty Years of Bird Counts at Jordan Lake
7:00 pm
Jan 4, 2018
Chris Liloia
NC Botanical Garden
NC native plants for pollinators.
7:00 pm
Feb 1, 2018
Catherine Lohmann
UNC-Chapel Hill
Sea Turtles of North Carolina
7:00 pm
Mar 1, 2018
Ed Corey
NC Division of Parks and Recreation
Orthoptera of North Carolina
7:00 pm
Apr 5, 2018
David Smith and friends Birds and Animals of Indonesia
7:00 pm
May 3, 2018
David Anderson
New Hope Audubon Society
Birds of Cuba

Contact Us

New Hope Audubon is a volunteer organization without an office or an office phone. Please use our email address to contact us, and we will get back to you as soon as possible. You may also use our mailing address, but our response may be slower:

New Hope Audubon Society
PO Box 2693
Chapel Hill, NC, 27515.

Contact Us


Or email us directly at newhopeaudubon@gmail.com

Officers/Committee Chairs

New Hope Audubon Society (NHAS) is governed by a board of directors with duties outlined in the chapter by-laws. Officers are elected at the May membership meeting and serve through the following April. Committee and special project people are appointed by the board–volunteers are always welcome! Below is a list of current officers and committee chairs.


  • President: Tommy Richey
  • Vice President: David Anderson
  • Secretary: Mary George
  • Treasurer: Vern Bothwell
  • Director: Gail Boyarsky
  • Director: Karen Hogan
  • Director: Clarke French
  • Immediate Past President: Bo Howes

Committee Chairs and Special Projects

  • Archivist: Tommy Richey
  • Bird Friendly Habitat: Jim George, Barbara Driscoll
  • Bird Seed Sale: Tom Driscoll
  • Christmas & Spring Bird Counts: Norm Budnitz
  • Conservation Chair: David Anderson
  • Eagle Count: Steve McMurray
  • Education Chair: Anne Geer
  • Field Trip Chair: David Anderson
  • Hospitality Chair: Jill Paul
  • Important Bird Area, Eno River: Vern Bothwell
  • Important Bird Area, Jordan Lake: Pat Reid
  • Liaison to Audubon NC and National Audubon: Anne Dayer
  • Membership Chair: Mary George
  • Newsletter Editor: Pat Reid
  • Program Chair: Tom Driscoll
  • Publicity Chair: Pam Timmons
  • Stream Watch: John Kent
  • Webmasters: Norm Budnitz, Jim George
  • Wildlife Observation Platform: Bo Howes


If you would like to download our New Hope Audubon Society full-color brochure with beautiful drawings of feathers by Mike Skakuj, please click here.

Constitution and By-Laws

In 2011, New Hope Audubon Society updated and amended its Constitution and By-Laws. Click here for a PDF version of these documents.

Stay In Touch

’Like’ our Facebook Page to see announcements; join our Facebook Group to share photos and questions; follow us on Twitter; or get email announcements of our activities. Pick your service and never miss out on group news!